Breaking New Ground

Reconnecting People with The Brecks

BNG Board

The BNG Landscape Partnership Scheme was directed by a board made up from a wide variety of partners, representing a spread of interests across, biodiversity, heritage, communities and education. We are grateful to all those that gave up their time, and contributed their expertise as a member of the BNG board.







James Parry  (Chairman)

 The Breckland Society

Nick Collinson (Vice Chairman)

Natural Environment Manager

Suffolk County Council (now National Trust)

Sarah Abercrombie

Project Officer

Norfolk County Council

Andrew Blenkiron

Estate Director

Euston Estate

Sarah Broughton


St Edmundsbury Borough Council

Richard Brooke

Planning and Environment Manager

Forestry Commission

Dorothy Casey

Head of Conservation

Suffolk Wildlife Trust

Martin Wixey

Estate Manager

Shadwell Stud

Liz Ditner

Breckland Society

Jonathan Dix

Lead Advisor, Norfolk and Suffolk Team

Natural England

John Hiskett

Senior Conservation Officer

Norfolk Wildlife Trust

D Wheeler

Suffolk Association of Local Councils

Louise Humphries

Chief Executive

Keystone Trust

Julia Massey


Environment Agency


Shirley Matthews


Norfolk Association of Local Councils


Matthew Hicks


Suffolk County Council

Tim Cowan

Brecks Project Manager


Damien Parker

Operations Manager

West Suffolk Council

Gareth Price

Ex Headmaster

Thetford Grammar School

David Robertson

Historic Environment Officer

Norfolk County Council

Reg Sylvester


Forest Heath District Council



Prof. Tom Williamson

Centre for East Anglian Studies

University of East Anglia